LaFayette Collision Center in Marquette
Press Releases

Michigan Municipal League Board Names Six New Members

Grand Rapids, MISeptember 30, 2018 – Officials from Boyne City, Holland, Menominee, Midland, Pontiac, and Vassar Selected to Statewide Municipal Association.

The members of the Michigan Municipal League recently elected six new members to the statewide League Board of Trustees.

During the League’s Annual Meeting at its 2018 Convention Sept. 21 in Grand Rapids, the League membership elected as new board members: Midland Councilmember Diane Brown Wilhelm; Michael Cain, City Manager of Boyne City; Vassar City Manager Brian Chapman; Holland Mayor Nancy De Boer; Menominee Mayor Jean Stegeman; and Pontiac Mayor Deirdre Waterman.

The League board also selected its 2018-19 officers. Ferndale Councilmember Melanie Piana named president and Saginaw City Councilmember Brenda F. Moore was named vice president. As vice president, Moore is in line to become the League president for the 2019-20 term.

New board member details (all terms expire in 2021):

Diane Brown Wilhelmis a tireless public servant, sitting on the Midland city council and city planning commission for more than 10 combined years. She also is the city council’s legislative director, representing the city as a delegate to the Michigan Municipal League. She also holds leadership roles with Midland’s Shelterhouse, Midland Community Family Ministries, and the League of Women Voters. She is a senior manager executive for Accenture.

Michael Cainhas served as city manager of Boyne City since 2002. He has over 35 years of municipal management experience having previously worked for Grand Traverse County, Traverse City, Fenton, Wolverine Lake, Troy, and St. Johns. Cain has served on various League committees. He is a member of the International City/County Management Association and the Michigan Municipal Executives where he served on the board and several committees. He currently serves as the chairperson of the Charlevoix, Cheboygan and Emmet County 911 Authority and is also on the board of Networks Northwest. Cain works hard to remove unnecessary organizational silos, promotes collaboration between and within organizations and communities, all while looking for ways to say yes. He is the past president and current board member of the Boyne Valley Lions Club and is an Eagle Scout.

Brian Chapmanhas been serving in local government since 2007 and is the current city manager for the City of Vassar. Prior to coming to Vassar, Chapman was the organization development specialist for the City of Oshkosh, WI; management assistant for the City of Oshkosh, WI; and assistant to the city manager in Negaunee, MI. Chapman has also served as a consultant to numerous communities and counties throughout Wisconsin. His background includes areas as diverse as public works, economic development, public finance, organizational development, process improvement, and long-range planning. Chapman is an active member of the International City Managers Association (ICMA), Michigan Municipal Executives, and Strong Towns.

Nancy De Boeris the 43rdmayor of the City of Holland and became the first woman mayor in the city’s 148-year history when she was elected in November 2015.She previously served 10 years as a member of the city council.During her tenure on the council, she has championed many initiatives, but most notably played a vital role in fostering the redevelopment of the city’s 60-year-old civic center. After 11 studies, three committees, and plans over the last three decades, the Holland Civic Center has finally been reborn and will catalyze human connections and investment in Holland. The city is now beginning a visioning for waterfront development with the vacation of the coal-fired power plant on the water.

Jean Stegeman has more than six years’ experience as a municipal official, currently serving as mayor in the City of Menominee. She was a member of and served as chair of the Menominee planning commission for several years prior to becoming mayor. She is active in several local civic organizations.

Dr. Deirdre Watermanwas elected as mayor of Pontiac in 2013, becoming the first woman to be elected to the position, and she was re-elected in November 2017. As mayor she has numerous accomplishments, including working successfully to end 10 years of emergency managers and state takeover and guiding the city from a deficit budget to a $15 million surplus. An ophthalmologist by profession, Dr. Waterman is a longtime business owner and operated her practice, Holloway Eye Care, in Pontiac for more than 30 years. She was the first African-American female ophthalmologist in the state of Michigan. She also served as chairman of the National Medical Association, Region IV, as well as two terms as finance chair for that organization. She was president of the Associated Healthcare Providers and is listed in the first education of Vital Signs: Michigan, citing African-American achievement in healthcare. She was awarded the 2017 Crain’s Newsmaker of the Year Award in February 2018. She was named one of Essence Magazine’s ‘Woke 100 Women’ of the year in the May 2018 issue and is featured in the photo spread with the 18 most prominent African American Women Mayors in the country.
The newly elected Trustees join Piana, Moore and the other volunteers who remain on the 2018-19 Board: Marlon Brown, Mason Mayor Pro Tem; Christine Burns, Spring Lake Village Manager; Shea Charles, Howell City Manager; Brenda Jones, Detroit Council President; Andy LeCureaux, Hazel Park City Councilmember; Richard Lewis, Traverse City Commissioner; Kimberley Sims, Muskegon Heights Mayor; Oliver Turner, Sault Ste. Marie City Manager; William Wild, Westland Mayor; and Mark Vanderpool, Sterling Heights City Manager.

The board and League Executive Director and CEO Dan Gilmartin also thanked for their years of service outgoing President Catherine Bostick-Tullius, Lapeer City Commissioner; and board members Wendell Dompier, Baraga Village President; Maureen Donker, Midland Mayor; Jason Eppler, Ionia City Manager; Rebecca Fleury, Battle Creek City Manager; and Rusty Showalter, West Branch Councilmember.

Submit Press Releases, News, Calendar Items, and Community Events to mediaBrew radio stations WFXD, WKQS, WRUP, GTO, Fox Sport Marquette, and 106.1 The Sound
Click To Submit Press Releases, News, Calendar Items, and Community Events to mediaBrew radio stations WFXD, WKQS, WRUP, GTO, Fox Sport Marquette, and 106.1 The Sound

Marquette, Michigan Calendar; Ishpeming Calendar; Negaunee Calendar; Gwinn Calendar; Negaunee Calendar and Events; Upper Peninsula Calendar of Events; Escanaba Events and Calendar

Related posts

Porcupine Mountains Artist-in-Residence Program seeks entries for 2013-2014

Todd P

Chocolay Township Lions Club in Harvey 3th annual Easter Egg Hunt

Todd P

NMU Hosts “Three-Minute Thesis” Contest

Todd P

Northern Initiatives – Data

Todd P

MDOT’s 2013 Statewide Construction Map Now Available

Todd P

Discover Sawyer – Family Fun Days, This Weekend

Todd P

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More